Honors College

Love truth, kindle faith, and cultivate virtue in friendship, study, and service to Christ and neighbor.

The Honors College unites two majors and two programs committed to helping undergraduates pursue questions that often fall between the cracks of the specialized disciplines, by exploring the writings of scientists along with the writings of poets, historians, and philosophers.


The Honors College brings together a community of students and faculty devoted to the love of learning, to the cultivation of wonder, and to pursuing life’s most important questions both within and outside of the classroom. Students engage in rich conversations with prominent faculty through two distinct undergraduate majors, University Scholars and Great Texts, as well as two programs, the Baylor Interdisciplinary Core and the Honors Program.

Learn More

Honors Residential College

The Honors Residential College (HRC) is an optional multi-year community that fosters intellectual, moral, and spiritual formation through friendship, integrated study, community service, and spiritual engagement. The HRC is home to 330 Baylor students enrolled in one of the Honors College majors or programs above. The HRC is located in Alexander and Memorial Halls.

Learn More
May 30, 2024
HRC Mission Trip Partners with One More Child in Costa Rica

To kick off the summer, Honors Residential College (HRC) students traveled to Costa Rica to continue a partnership with One More Child. Since 2017, the HRC has hosted a mission trip to help extend the service happening within the walls of the HRC out into the world. This year’s program, led by HRC Faculty Steward Jason Whitt, Ph.D., served alongside two One More Child partners: Iglesia Biblica Conce-Sion (IBCS) and Transforma.  

May 20, 2024
Recent Getterman Scholars Alumni Reflect on Their Honors College Journey

Every year, the Honors College grants a select number of full-tuition scholarships through the Getterman Scholars Program. This highly competitive initiative draws some of the nation’s most exceptional high school seniors to Baylor University.

As three Getterman Scholars recently completed their journey at Baylor, the Honors College invited them to reflect on their transformative experiences.

May 1, 2024
Victor Hinojosa, Lenore Wright, and Davide Zori Receive Outstanding Faculty Awards

Honors College professors Victor Hinojosa, Ph.D., Lenore Wright, Ph.D., and Davide Zori, Ph.D., have been honored with Outstanding Faculty Awards for teaching, scholarship, and contributions to the academic community for the 2023-2024 academic year. 

The Outstanding Faculty Awards recognize the best all-around professors on teaching capabilities, research achievement, effective committee service, time spent with students, and civic and church involvement. 

Apr. 27, 2024
Bridgebuilding Fellows Demonstrate Model Bridging Divides in Difficult Conversations

Continuing Baylor University’s year-long focus on civil discourse, 31 Baylor students – newly commissioned as the inaugural cohort of “Bridgebuilding Fellows” – joined together April 23 at the Hurd Welcome Center for a university-wide demonstration of a model for bridging these divides by cultivating curiosity, deep listening and story sharing.